So glad to be here Reinventing The Tattoo
Webinars

Reinventing The Tattoo Forum

Home » introduce yourself » so glad to be here

Search Forum:

So glad to be here

Posted by on 11.17.15

my name is Ceka I've been apprenticing for a few years and have bounced around from a few shops ( one went out of business ). I spend at least of a third of the time at the shop by myself so I'm so glad to use the money I've earned tattooing to buy this course and learn more to give better tattoos and hope to become a full time artist. It's been a tough climb and I peice together double shifts cocktailing and doing cosmetics to keep a roof above my head, and feed my dogs. I went thru a stint recently where I had to use the local food bank to keep afloat. I take tattooing seriously and wang to be a professional tattoo artist.  I am from the art school pipeline with a BFA in painting and drawing, I learned figure drawing here and became fascinated with the human form and what flesh does on a skeleton. I also did 1 year of anMFA before I realized I didn't want to have my images rot in a gallery. Looking forward to joining this community 

Replies:

RE: So glad to be here

Posted by on 11.19.15

Hey Ceka, good to have you here! It's an unfortunate fact that many artists start out by trying to find a decent work situation, often bouncing around as you have. Hopefully you'll find a place where you can put down roots. Are you in a shop now? And have you begun actually doing tattoos for pay? Please feel free to post work for critique here in the forum!

Posted by on 11.23.15

Guy (a little star struck right now!! Like I can't believe this is happening!)